Skip to content

CELTA Success – Aliya Siddique writes from The King Saud University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

August 16, 2010

I did my CELTA at the University of Wales, Swansea, UK. It was a three weeks course, which was part of the MA TEFL degree that I received from this University during the years 2006-7.

During the first week of my training I found it very hard to cope with it all, because I had no teaching background. I even reached a stage where I almost decided to quit. However, thanks go to my tutors, Peter, Kevin and Emma who persuaded me to continue. They assured me that every student faced such a difficulty in the beginning but with the passage of time things become easier. Even my father, who was on visit during my training, and my brother Dr. M. Hafeez also encouraged me to continue. Dr. Jim Milton, Director of the English Department with whom later I did my dissertation and Gaynor Bracchi, administrator of the same department also wished me success. At the end of the week, I slowly made some progress and my tutors showed satisfaction.

In the second week I really made some good progress with the help and able guidance of my tutors. In this way I came back to the right track and I completed my training successfully. Needless to say I secured my highest marks in this module.

CELTA is very important for those teachers who wish to make teaching as a profession. It is because of CELTA that I got my present job of an English Teacher in the King Saud University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, which is one of the renowned Universities of the Kingdom.

I will never forget the Swansea University especially the CELTA Team who have made my career. I am quite happy with my job. I am proud to be a graduate of Swansea University. I pray to the Almighty Allah to keep the name of Swansea University up amongst all Universities of Wales. It is a true reflection of my heart feelings which I have expressed above.

I really enjoyed my stay at Swansea University which I shall always remember throughout my life.

Many thanks

Aliya Siddique

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

