Skip to content

Managing and Syllabus writing in Japan – Nathaniel Reed

August 21, 2010

Nathaniel (2009) writes from Japan:

“I hope you and the team are well! Things are going well over here, however I have decided to leave my current employer and seek work elsewhere. You may know that the teaching jobs here in Japan are primarily as ALTs, in private English/conversations schools and corporate. I applied for all kinds of positions mainly for experience, I was offered many jobs, and the one that I took is in an English conversation school where I was asked to join in a managerial role, organising syllabi for kids and adult classes. I am really looking forward to this position so I can expand my experience and knowledge, if you have any questions please shoot them over.

Also, one other job I have accepted is to write a syllabus for TOEIC classes in another school …”

Update:
Nat also writes “please feel free to tell any prospective or current trainee teachers or students. I`d also be glad to give … more information about my situation regarding work or life over here, so please ask me if needs be.”

Nat can be contacted via ELTS.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Emma permalink
    August 23, 2010 9:52 am

    Hi Nat.

    It looks like your having a great time out there in Japan. The job looks good. Let me know if you need any help.

    Emma

  2. October 5, 2010 2:32 pm

    Hi Emma,

    Thank you for your post and offer of assistance. I have taken on a number of jobs: in two conversation schools, a kindergarten and some private lessons at students homes, with the intention of furthering my professional development. I am having to stay highly organized and am on a steep learning curve which I am thoroughly enjoying. There is no doubt that I will be asking for some guidance before long, thanks again.

    じゃまた Nathaniel

  3. October 19, 2010 1:23 pm

    Hi guys – hope you’re all well and good! I’m teaching in an eikaiwa in Japan, and as some of you know, the Japanese education system is taking making its first big change in a while, next year. From grammar translation to the communicative approach. I think this is a good opportunity to train some teachers for this big step, as they are being provided with very little and their books are a little dry. The big ‘but’ is that I have only ever been a trainee of course, such as CELTA, and such courses were both enjoyable and functional simultaneously – how can I set up a course that prepares teachers to teach communicatively? I request any assistance, guidance, advice, ideas or anything what so ever on this matter. Thanks and arigatou gozaimasu in advance 🙂

Leave a Reply

